top of page

A reflection on public transportation in London

The Tube

London subway system is convenient and very fast. However, rush hour is not a fun experience. I still remember there was one time I needed to take the tube during rush hour from Old Street to Holborn. I could barely move because there were many people at the station. Moreover, the tube was very crowded which made me feel suffocating. Walking inside the tube stations is another little journey. As London has many subway lines, to transfer from one line to another sometimes takes more than 5 minutes.

Riding the tube: A whole new world where technology does not exist

I think one of the special features of London is that people’s life changes when they ride the tube. As there is no internet connection or carrier signal, people cannot get access to the online world. Therefore, new habits are formed to spend time commuting more wisely and efficiently. When I get on the tube, I see that people do a variety of activities such as reading newspaper, listening to music, reading books, sleeping, eating and drinking, talking with friends, etc. The most mind-blowing activity to me is when many women do their whole facial care and make up routine on the tube. You can tell that these women are very skillful and they are used to standing on the tube while applying their make-up. It only takes them about 10 minutes or less to finish the whole procedure, which is unbelievable. In such a busy city like London, it is interesting to see people slow down and enjoy their life in a traditional way back in the days where Internet did not exist.

Buses


I really like London red double-deckers. The bus system is very convenient and easy to ride. You can go online to Tfl’s website to check the bus schedule or go to google map to find your way around London. I often take the bus from Thoresby House to Arcadia as it is much faster and less crowded than the tube during rush hours. Moreover, the good point about buses is that I can see the city and different neighborhoods when I am on the bus.


However, the way Britain operates its bus system still baffles me. I do not understand why people can only ride a bus if they have an oyster card or a contactless payment, not with cash. I have witnessed a lot of times when passengers are turned down by the bus driver because they do not have an oyster card. One time, one lady wanted to go home by bus because it was raining heavily. However, the driver refused to let her on because she did not have an oyster card. If there is no tube station nearby and therefore people cannot purchase their oyster cards, how can they ride a bus? There was one time I lost my oyster card and I felt very miserable because I could not ride the bus back home unless I had an oyster card. Luckily, I figured things out and got back home safely, but the incident still made me upset when thinking about it.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page